Protein-Packed Probiotic “Oatmeal” Recipe (With Kefir!)

HI!

Woo I have a new recipe for you guys with some new products that I loveeee.

Protein-Packed Probiotic Oatmeal

Being home has been awesome because not only do I get some true R&R, but I also get to go to the huge Whole Foods in my town and get a little crazy trying new things. One of the new things I’ve been reading about is Kefir, so I decided to buy some Kefir-Enhanced Non-Fat Milk from Whole Foods and see what the hype is all about.

What is Kefir?

IMG_4095

Kefir is really similar to yogurt, in that it is a cultured milk,  meaning it has live and active probiotic bacteria cultures in the milk to promote gut function.  It is packed with vitamins, minerals and SO MUCH PROTEIN, containing 16 g of protein per 1 cup of Kefir milk.  

What’s awesome about this milk product is that it is safe for people who are lactose-intolerant or who are dairy sensitive.  The live bacteria actually eat the lactose (the sugar) in the milk, so our bodies don’t ever have to deal with it.  And if that isn’t good enough for those really sensitive to dairy, Kefir can be easily grown in any type of milk from a small sample, purchasable online!

Kefir has an incredible amount of calcium, magnesium and Vitamin D, and is known to calm the nervous system.  Not only that, but the protein in Kefir is much more bioavailable than protein from animal sources, meaning it is more easily digested and accessed by the body.

Long-story short, Kefir is great for digestion, and even greater as a post-workout protein source.  Now…

How can you use it to make this “probiotic oatmeal”?

Well for starters, this recipe is actually for muesli, but it’s easier to refer to it as oatmeal.  This is a very simple breakfast or post-workout meal that you can make anywhere from 2-3 days in advance (depending on the fruit) in order to have something on-the-go for those rushed mornings.

Ingredients: 

IMG_8278

  • 1/4 cup of Rolled Oats (not steel cut or instant – Can be found packaged or in bulk at Whole Foods or other health food / grocery stores)
  • 1/3 cup Kefir milk (With this oatmeal you can use any type of milk, but I chose Kefir for the added digestive properties)
  • 1/4 cup low-fat Greek Yogurt
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of Chia Seeds
  • Any fruit, honey, syrups, spices or sweeteners you desire!
    - Use 1 tsp of honey or syrup
    - With fruit, feel free to use half or whole, and dice the fruit into small pieces.  My flavor this morning was banana, so I only used half of a diced banana

Directions: 

  1. Combine oats, milk, yogurt and chia seeds in a 1 cup container, either in a mason jar or in any other half-pint container
  2. Add Sweeteners and syrups, and mix well:
    I used 1 tsp of Agave Nectar because I couldn’t find any honey, and honestly I just really like the taste of Agave Nectar
  3. Add fruit last and gently mix in to preserve the integrity of the fruit.  I like having big chunks in the oatmeal because I feel like there is more flavor that way. Last night I mixed the banana in with everything all at once and the banana got kind of mushy.  Just in general, banana will get mushy, but it’s easier to just add it last
  4. Close the container and place in the fridge for at least 8 hours!

What I love about this recipe is that the chia seeds and the oats really soften and absorb liquid for a great, almost pudding-like texture in the morning.

I actually chose to double this whole recipe because this morning I took two Pilates classes, one at 8 am and one at 10 am.  For my training I need observation hours, so in the hour between classes I observed a class.  I made this double recipe last throughout my whole workout by eating part for breakfast, part in between classes and the rest after.  Muesli is packed with carbohydrates and protein to energize you for an early morning workout and to replenish you with all the essential amino acids after your workout.

Here’s the nutrition on 1 serving of muesli:

Screen Shot 2013-08-12 at 11.57.57 AMAs you can see, this has an incredible amount of protein and carbohydrates, both of which really kept me feeling energized throughout my workouts.

And of course, I must give credit where it is due: I got this recipe originally from Callie because she’s awesome and has been eating trendy health recipes since she was a baby, but specifically from The Yummy Life.  Check out her No-Cook Overnight Oatmeal page for flavor ideas.  I haven’t tried any of her flavor ideas, because I like experimenting with my own, but she has some great suggestions!

3 thoughts on “Protein-Packed Probiotic “Oatmeal” Recipe (With Kefir!)

  1. Pingback: Getting My Health Groove Back | Whitney's Health and Pilates Blog

  2. Pingback: Finding Comfort in Your Kitchen | Jessica Chronicles

Leave a Reply

