5 Ways to Get Healthier Today

Recently I have been asked what I would suggest for a person who wants to get healthy but who doesn’t have a lot of time to go to the gym and who doesn’t know a lot about health or different dieting approaches.

I immediately knew how I would answer this question only because I too had this question when I first decided to adopt a healthy lifestyle.  This whole “getting healthy thing” can seem really scary at first because there is just so much conflicting information out there, but all that information is actually intended to confuse you.

Deciding to embark on a journey towards better health can really be as simple as changing 5 little things in your life.  Once you change these 5 things, give it a week or two and I guarantee you’ll start to realize how much better you feel.  Don’t get caught up in all the intimidating information out there, but instead just START your journey, and worry about the rest later.

That being said, here are 5 things I would suggest doing if you want to start your health journey today:

1. Get comfortable in your kitchen

A healthy lifestyle happens in the kitchen, not in “healthy” restaurants or frozen meals. What I really mean by get comfortable in your kitchen is cut it out with eating out everyday.  Learn to cook, even if you can only cook very simple things at first! As I’ve posted about plenty of times, eggs are a great way to start the morning, and omelets are surprisingly simple once you’ve discovered the magic in egg whites, cooking spray and left over veggies.

Don’t know how to cook? YouTube is filled with cooking how-to’s.  It’s honestly the place where I learned how to work with vegetables in the first place. Try making something new every couple of days (or even every day!).  Cooking shouldn’t be a daunting task, but rather it should be an enjoyable and relaxing part of your day. The important part about cooking is that you know exactly what is going into your meals so you can regulate exactly what you are putting into your body.

2. Buy (Organic) vegetables!

The first thing I learned when I decided to lose weight is that I needed to eat a lot of veggies.  More specifically, I needed to incorporate veggies into almost every meal or snack.  An easy way to do that is to buy pre-cut organic carrots and celery to have when you are craving chips and other processed salty foods because they taste so good dipped in almost anything!  Also try experimenting with different kinds of greens.  Salads were my best friend when I first started getting healthy because they are so easy and leafy greens are essential to good health.

3. Learn to Love Smoothies

Pre-Workout smoothies were a staple in my diet when I first started getting healthy, and have remained a staple in my diet ever since.  I came across smoothies on accident actually, because I had started on this weight loss program that had its own smoothie powder for morning smoothies. From there I just started experimenting.  Start with frozen strawberries, half a banana, a cup of almond milk and a tablespoon of peanut butter, and then take it from there. Look online for smoothie recipes! The great part about smoothies is that they always taste good.  It’s really hard to mess up frozen fruit and milk.  Also, many protein powders come in vanilla and chocolate in case you feel like having a milk shake before or after your work out!

4. Buy olive oil instead of butter

I have preached this over and over again, and I will continue to preach it for the rest of my life.  Throw out your butter. Butter is incredibly high in calories, saturated fat and bad cholesterol.  If you’re trying to get healthy, tone up, or lose weight, get rid of the butter.  Olive oil is about the same calorie-wise, but is high is healthy fats which lower your cholesterol and actually help prevent weight gain.  Seriously, if you’re going to listen to anything I say, listen to this.  Olive Oil is awesome and in my opinion, has way more flavor than butter ever could.

5. Start Sweating

You may think you don’t have time to exercise, but exercising is one of the best things you can do for your body.  Sweating helps get rid of all the toxins in your body, it keeps the systems in your body running properly, it gets your blood flowing (helping distribute nutrients to your cells) and honestly, it helps bring clarity, peace and more energy to your life.  Sweating is one of my favorite activities, especially when I don’t even realize I’m doing it.  Try going for a hike with your friends, doing some laps in the pool, or just getting out there for a 30 minute jog.  Start with 30 minutes 3 times a week and then take it from there! There are so many fun and different was to exercise, so get creative and find some friends to join you.

So those are my tips for getting healthy today.  If anyone is just starting their journey, let me know and I can be your personal support system! I do this because I believe that choosing a healthy lifestyle is the best thing you can ever do for yourself.

One thought on “5 Ways to Get Healthier Today

Leave a Reply

